Connect with us

High School

Xavier remains unanimous No. 1 in poll; Three division champions crowned in SCC

No. 1 Xavier has won seven straight SCC division titles

Xavier remains the unanimous choice as the No. 1 team in the Connecticut Wrestling Online top 10 poll as voted by coaches and sportswriters from around the state. The Falcons received all 17 first place votes.

Newtown (16-0, 8-0 SWC) remains the unanimous choice as the No. 2 team in the state. The Nighthawks won the Matt Bishel Bobcat Classic for the second straight year on Saturday with a tournament record 287 points and a 56-point win over No. 8 Killingly (30-0). It was the fifth tournament win of the season for the Hawks, who won the Southwest Conference Colonial title with a 63-15 win over Brookfield/Shepaug on Monday night.

The only changes in the top 10 this week were Danbury (14-0) and East Hartford (14-0) swapping spots. Danbury moved up to No. 3 while the Hornets slipped one spot to No. 4. After winning the CCC championship, Simsbury (12-3) moved up to No. 7 while Killingly dropped one spot to No. 8.

Results and boxscores: Monday, Feb. 5, 2024

Xavier, Guilford and Foran each won division titles in the Southern Connecticut Conference on Monday night. The league championship will be contested beginning Friday night in East Haven.

No. 1 Xavier (14-2, 4-0 SCC Div. I) beat Morgan, 66-12, to win their seventh straight Div. I title and their 10th division title in the last 11 seasons dating back to 2017.

Guilford (17-9, 4-0 SCC Div. II) had five pins and won seven bouts to beat Amity, 41-33 and win their first SCC division title. The SCC began separating into multiple divisions in 2005. The most recent league championship trophy for Guilford came in 1999 when they shared the SCC title with Derby and East Haven.

Foran (31-8, 4-0, SCC Div. III) had eight pins in a 78-3 win over New Haven to clinch the Div. III title. It was the second straight Div. III title for Foran, which owns the state record for most wins in a season at 35 in 2016 when they finished 35-3.

No. 6 New Milford dominated Weston, 72-12 to finish at 7-1 in the Southwest Conference. Despite the loss, Weston (7-2, 6-2 SWC) finished as the top team in the SWC’s Patriot Division.

With eight pins, No. 7 Simsbury (13-3, 6-0 CCC West) won the CCC West championship for the fifth straight time with a 79-0 win over Farmington. Simsbury will close out the regular season on Wednesday night by hosting No. 1 Xavier.

Results and boxscores: Monday, Feb. 5, 2024

On Saturday, Stafford won their own Stafford Invitational for the first time with a 12½-point win over Lyman Memorial/Windham Tech. No. 10 Ridgefield won four matches including a 59-18 victory over Guilford to win the New Fairfield Duals for the first time.

A video of the championship finals of the Central Connecticut Conference tournament is available on You Tube at Connecticut Wrestling Online’s landing page. Amity Athletic Director Ernie Goodwin had the call with analyst Ken Pera, a former State Open champion.

Results and boxscores: Saturday, Feb. 3, 2024


Top 10 poll

Connecticut Wrestling Online’s top 10 high school wrestling poll for the 2022-23 season. First-place votes in parentheses, record through Saturday, points tabulated on a 30-28-26-24-22-20-18-16-14-12-11-10-9-8-7 basis, and last week’s poll ranking.

Monday, February 5, 2024 (Week 6)

Team Rec. TW Pts LW Class
1. Xavier (17) 13-2 4 510 1 L
2. Newtown 15-0 5 476 2 L
3. Danbury 14-0 1 412 4 LL
4. East Hartford 14-0 4 390 3 LL
5. Fairfield Warde 21-2 2 386 5 LL
6. New Milford 9-3 3 322 6 L
7. Simsbury 12-3 2 318 8 L
8. Killingly 30-0 6 301 7 S
9. Trumbull 27-3 2 214 9 LL
10. Ridgefield 19-2 1 196 10 LL
Also receiving votes: Platt (22-4) 144, RHAM (17-3) 98, Foran (30-8) 75, Southington (9-2) 49, Berlin (12-9) 7, NFA (21-5) 45, Fairfield Ludlowe (15-3) 38, Guilford (16-9) 23, Notre Dame-West Haven (22-10) and Bristol Eastern (14-2) 16
TW: Wins in dual meet or individual tournaments as a team
Voting this week: Charlie Anderson, Trumbull; Matt Boissonneault, Bristol Central; Mike Cunningham, Xavier; Gerry deSimas, Jr., Connecticut Wrestling Online; Derek Dion, Southington; Chris Gamble, Waterford; David Green, Nonnewaug; Tim Jensen, Patch Media; Chris Piel, New Milford; Patrick Risley, Windham High; Matt Schoonmaker, Jonathan Law-Milford; Jason Shaughnessy, Fairfield Warde; T.J. Silva, Simsbury; David Stewart,, Jimmy Zanor, Norwich Bulletin; Paul Musso, New Fairfield


Gerry deSimas, Jr., is the editor and founder of Connecticut Wrestling Online. He is an award-winning writer and has been covering sports in Connecticut and New England for more than 40 years. He was inducted into the New England High School Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2018.

More in High School