Connect with us


Sacred Heart women finish fourth at Lindenwood Open

With just four wrestlers competing the Sacred Heart women’s wrestling team finished fourth at the Lindenwood Open on the campus of Lindenwood University in St. Charles, Missouri, on Nov. 21.

Host Lindenwood won the tournament by a 117-107½ margin over Indian Hills Community College of Iowa. Umpqua Community College from Oregon was third (70½) followed by the Pioneers with 50½ points.

Sacred Heart’s Madison Sandquist won her second tournament in a row at 143 pounds, going 5-1 on the afternoon. Sandquist dropped her opening bout of the tournament to Emily Patneaud of McKendree but won her next five matches to win the tournament.

In her run to the final, Sandquist had the fastest pin in team history by putting Nishika Smith of Umpqua CC to the mat in just 14 seconds. Sandquist won the title by forfeit.

Teammate Tays Pasqual also wrestled at 143 pounds and finished third by pinning Celeste Tellez of IHCC in 4:48. Pasqual went 4-1 in the tournament with three pins. Her only loss coming to Sandquist in the semifinals, 10-0.

Sacred Heart’s Jaclyn Smith (170) finished third. Her day started with a 4-3 decision over Kai Poux from Fontbonne. Smith got into the semifinals by beating Lindenwood’s Sierra Hall, 5-4. She was beaten by the eventual champion MaKenzie Cook, but came back to record a pin in 3:50 against Autumn Perez of UCC.

At 136 pounds, Savannah Vanse finished fourth. She pinned the top seed Daisy Scholz of Iowa Western in just 1:21 of her first bout. She lost her next contest but came back top pin Umpqua CC’s Kayli Acosta in 33 seconds. Vanse would drop her last two contests to take fourth.

The Pioneers will have their first dual meets on Dec. 4 when the travel to Lock Haven, Pennsylvania to take on Eagles and New Jersey City University.

2021 Lindenwood Open
At St. Charles, Missouri (Nov. 21)
Top 10 team results – 1. Lindenwood (Missouri) University 117, 2. Indian Hills (Iowa) CC 107½, 3. Umpqua (Oregon) Community College 70½, 4. Sacred Heart 50½, 5. McKendree (Illinois) University 50, 6. Avila (Missouri) University 44½, 7. Iowa Wesleyan 39, 8. Chadron State (Nebraska) College 36½, 9. Central Methodist (Missouri) University 29½, 10. Northern Michigan University 15.
Individual results
Final: Alaina Sunlin (Iowa Wesleyan) pin Mya Turnmire (Indian Hills CC). 1:18; Third: Abby Jastal (Central Methodist) forfeit over Kinsey Smith (Chadron State College)
109 (round robin)
1st Place – Kennedy Shrophire of Indian Hills CC; 2nd Place – Lizette Rodriguez, Unattached; 3rd Place – Kiona Conner of McKendree); 4th Place – Leila Sidhu of Umpqua CC
116 (round robin)
1st Place – Amiyah Hart of McKendree); 2nd Place – Teah Chunn of Indian Hills CC; 3rd Place – Jamesa Robinson of Indian Hills CC; 4th Place – Markayla Lottie of Avila)
Final: Cayden Condit (Lindenwood) pin Sabrina King (Central Methodist). 0:38; Third: Corinne McClure (Central Methodist) dec. Katelynn Gunderson (Lakeland), 8-4
Final: Victoria Baez-Dillone (Umpqua CC) pin Jasmine Ward (Lindenwood), 0:41; Third: JoAnna Vanderwood (Iowa Wesleyan) tech fall Serenity Thomas (University of Toldeo), 10-0
Final: Athena Willden (Lindenwood) tech fall Alondra- Rosado Martinez (Indian Hills CC) , 16-6; Third: Kai Morrison (Avila) pin Savannah Vanase (Sacred Heart), 2:01
Final: Madison Sandquist (Sacred Heart) forfeit over Emmily Patneaud (McKendree); Third: Tays Pascual (Sacred Heart) pin Celeste Tellez (Indian Hills CC) 4:48
Final: Sara Lake (Lindenwood) injury default over Lilliann Restrepo (Umpqua CC); Third: Kaitlyn Bryant (Northern Michigan) tech fall Erma Williams (Indian Hills CC), 10-0
Final: McKenzie Cook (Unattached) dec. Kamila Montenegro (Chadron State College), 7-2; Third: Jacklyn Smith (Sacred Heart) pin Autumn Perez (Umpqua CC), 3:50
190 (round robin)
1st Place – Sydnee Kimber of Unattached; 2nd Place – Alina Arana of Lindenwood); 3rd Place – Kaycee Fitero of Lindenwood); 4th Place – Raziyah Thomas of Avila)
235 (round robin)
1st Place – Madison Martinez of Chadron State College; 2nd Place – Leanna Merrell of Avila); 3rd Place – Ariel Avitia of Lincoln College

2021 Lindenwood Open (women)

Connecticut Wrestling Online has been covering the sport of wrestling in Connecticut and New England since 2001.

More in College