Connect with us

High School

No. 8 Trumbull prevails in Connecticut Challenge with five top 10 teams

The New Fairfield wrestling team finished second at the 37th annual Edgemont Invitational in Edgemont, New York.  Hunter Chin won a title at 126 pounds. (Photo courtesy New Fairfield wrestling)

SOUTHINGTON, January 26, 2019 – In a tournament that included five of the top 10 teams in Connecticut, No. 8 Trumbull had four individual champions and five finalists to win the 10th annual Connecticut Challenge at Southington High.

The Eagles won the tournament for the first time since 2016 and beat No. 3 Southington by 12 points, 186-178. No. 2 Bristol Eastern had four individual champions but finished third with 165 points. No. 7 Middletown finished fourth (152) while No. 5 Simsbury finished fifth (139½).

Trumbull’s Travis Longo (113) and Jack Ryan (120) each won tight championship bouts to lift the Eagles. Longo outlasted Hall’s Drew Currier in the finals, 5-2 while Ryan beat Bacon Academy’s Braeden O’Brien, 3-1 in overtime.

Matt Ryan (138) and Joseph Palmieri (182) also won titles for Trumbull with Palmieri picking up a key 12-8 decision over Southington’s Matt Jacobsen in the finals.

Southington used their depth to make a run for the title. Jacob Cardoza won at 145 pounds with a 6-2 win over Berlin’s Daniel Veleas to earn outstanding wrestler honors. At 170, Billy Carr won with a pin in the final. The Blue Knights had five wrestlers finish third or tied for third place.

Trent Thompson (106), Tom Nichols (132), Justin Marshall (152) and Trinidad Gonzalez (220) brought home championships for Eastern. Gonzalez beat Hall’s Hugh Wells, 9-8 to win his title while Nichols beat Simsbury’s John Mariano in overtime.

Saturday, January 26 results

Timberlane Regional in Plaistow, N.H. handed No. 1 Danbury their first loss of the season with a 47-18 victory. The Owls had five pins and won 10 of 14 matches. Montez Osbey (195) D.J. Donovan (220), Kai O’Dell (106) and Tyler Johnson (120) picked up wins for Danbury.

Danbury led 11-0 after two matches and 15-3 after four bouts. But Timberlane took control from that point. The match was intense with two local fans being ejected from the arena.

Timberlane (14-0) beat No. 6 Xavier, 46-22 and Nashoba Valley Tech from Westford, Mass., 52-21 to extend their dual meet unbeaten streak to 44 in a row. The last loss for the Owls came to Danbury in January 2017.

Danbury (10-1) won two of three matches, beating Xavier, 37-27 and Nashoba Tech, 56-12.

Saturday, January 26 results

NFA honored the late Carl Snitkin by hosting the first Carl Snitkin Memorial Duals. Ledyard and NFA each won three matches at the tournament. Since Ledyard (18-6) and NFA wrestled on Wednesday – with Ledyard winning – the two teams didn’t wrestle on Saturday.

Snitkin led NFA to nine Class LL championships. He passed away in May at the age of 72.

Griswold had three individual champions, six finalists and two wrestlers finish third to win a very competitive Highlander Invitational in Portland. Pins from Dakota Gardner (160) and Johnny Falco (195) in the finals were crucial for Griswold, which finished with 211 points.

New Britain finished second with 187½ points with Manchester (184½), Gilbert (176½) and Canton (175½) close behind. Only 12 points separated the four teams. Gilbert’s Devin Matthews (132) was named the outstanding wrestler.

Saturday, January 26 results

Joel Barlow went 3-1 at the Richard Hastings Duals in Newington as Carson LiCastri earned his 100th career victory. (Photo courtesy Joel Barlow wrestling)

Joel Barlow’s Carson LiCastri earned his 100th career win as Barlow went 3-1 at the Richard Hastings Duals in Newington. West Springfield beat Wethersfield in the championship match, 48-22 to win the eighth annual tournament. It was West Springfield’s third win in the tournament and first since 2015.

East Haven went 4-0 with victories over host East Hartford, 45-27, and Farmington, 41-33 to capture the TFC Kevin Miller Duals in East Hartford. The tournament was in honor of the late Kevin Miller, a former East Hartford wrestler and Connecticut State Trooper, who died in March 2018.

Saturday, January 26 results

In the final match of the tournament, Montville’s Derrick Deveau won with a pin at 285 pounds to lift Montville to the Rodney Smith Classic championship for the third consecutive year. The pin gave Montville a three point win over Suffield/Windsor Locks, 142½ to 139½. Northwestern Regional was a close third with 131 points.

Suffield’s Will Robb had given the Wildcats the lead with a pin at 220 pounds, putting the pressure on Deveau. Robb was one of five Suffield wrestlers that won titles to close in on Montville, which was helped by third place finishes from Zack Dorion (195), Ian Anderson (152) and Jayden Colon (120). Dorion picked up a key pin for the Indians in his consolation final.

Saturday, January 26 results

Brunswick School-Greenwich won their 22nd consecutive Fairfield Athletic Association (FAA) wrestling championship with four dominating wins over Rye Country Day, 78-61; Green Farms Academy-Westport, 56-24, Hamden Hall, 70-6 and Hopkins-New Haven, 72-4.

Brunswick has won 35 of the last 36 FAA championships. Six Bruins earned All-FAA honors. Wrestlers honored included: 106 – Caleb Seyfried (GFA); 113 – Nico Provo (GFA); 120 – CJ Shea (GFA); 126 – Chris Perry (Brunswick); 132 – Peter Kane (GFA); 138 – Luca Errico (Brunswick); 145 – Nick Bell (Brunswick); 152 – Pearson Hill (Hamden Hall); 160 – Harry Fett (Brunswick); 170 – Owen Sherman (Hopkins); 182 – Klyde Auba (Hamden Hall); 195 – Tim Saunders (Brunswick); 220 – Cameron Coleman (RCDS); 285 – Howard Powell (Brunswick).

Greenwich’s Carlos DeWinter (113) and Andrew Nanai (182) won individual titles at the Ridgefield Classic as the Cardinals finished fourth. St. Anthony, N.Y. won the tournament for the second straight year.

Hand’s Kyle Davem (120) and Matt Derken (220) each won titles along with Ridgefield’s Ben Smart (126), Westhill’s Tommy Mazur (152) and Amity’s Andrew Seaton (152).

Saturday, January 26 results

With three individual champions, No. 10 Avon won at the Doc Myers Brawl at the Hill in Rocky Hill. Windham was second with five individual champions and six finalists.

New Fairfield finished second at the 37th annual Edgemont (N.Y.) Invitational with Hunter Chin (126) winning an individual title. Julian Soares (120), Zach Kalmanson (138) and Colman Doucette (170) each finished third with James Fiscella (160) and Nick Forstner (195) each taking fourth.

Killingly (21-2) won three matches at home with victories over Guilford, Lyman Memorial/Windham Tech and Ellis Tech.  Danny, Mike and David Charron, Cooper Morissette, Isaac Bean, Derek Turner, Greg Gosselin and Bryan Barrow were each 3-0 for the Redmen.

Gerry deSimas, Jr., is the editor and founder of Connecticut Wrestling Online. He is an award-winning writer and has been covering sports in Connecticut and New England for more than 30 years. He was inducted into the New England High School Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2018.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in High School