Connect with us

High School

Southington, Warde, Bristol Eastern pick up impressive tournament wins

Simsbury had six individual champions to win the Battle of Wethersfield and the championship hammer on Saturday. (Photo courtesy Simsbury High wrestling)

WATERFORD, December 15, 2018 — Southington had three individual champions and seven finalists as they won the Lancer Invitational for the second straight year on Saturday at Waterford High with a 229-152 win over Killingly. Waterford was third with 147 points.

Caleb Brick (120), Dawsen Welch (132) and Jacob Vecchio (220) brought home titles for the Knights. Ellis Tech’s Sean Johnson (132) beat Southington’s Jacob Cardozzo in the final, 11-3 and earned outstanding wrestler honors.

At the 30th annual C.J. McCormack Invitational in Berlin, Bristol Eastern won for the second straight year with a dominating performance. The Lancers had seven individual champions and 11 finalists. They easily outdistanced Foran, 275-142½ to bring home the championship.

Results Saturday, December 15

Rocky Hill had eight wrestlers reach the finals and three other wrestlers take third to help the Terriers to outlast Hamden Hall by 3½ points and win the Oxford Invitational, 128 to 124½ points. Rocky Hill had individual champions at 285 and 113 pounds but finished with 11 wrestlers in the top three of their respective weight classes. Hamden Hall had four individual champions and six finalists. East Catholic’s Jacob Marselli (106) was named the tournament’s most outstanding wrestler.

West Springfield had two champions and five finalist as they won the Skip Ardan Invitational in Manchester for the third straight year with a 209-162 win over the host Indians.

With five individual champions, Green Farms Academy in Westport won the Shelton Invitational for the second straight year. GFA outlasted Canton, 156-142. It was the best finish in regular season tournament for the Warriors in more than 22 years when they finished first at the Terryville Holiday Tournament in 1997. Canton was third in last year’s Derby Invitational.

Results Saturday, December 15

Fairfield Warde won the Guilford Invitational tournament for the fourth time Saturday in Guilford with a 21-point win over Xavier. (Photo courtesy Jason Shaughnessy)

With four individual champions and seven finalists, Fairfield Warde beat Xavier by 21 points to win the Guilford Invitational for the second straight year, 239-218. Ledyard took third with 182½ points. Will Ebert (126), Keenan Yu (120), Griffin Galatti (182) and Alec Nardone (220) each won titles for the Mustangs. Joel Barlow’s Carson LiCastri earned outstanding wrestler honors after his 3-2 win over Warde’s Joe Gjinaj in the final at 195 pounds.

Simsbury had six wrestlers win individual titles to easily win the second annual Battle of Wethersfield and go home with the heavy Battle of Wethersfield championship hammer. Simsbury tied the tournament record with 289 points with Wethersfield finishing second with 131 points. Middletown’s Elliot Cyr (120) earned outstanding wrestler honors after beating Simsbury’s Ty Finn, 2-1 to win his weight class.

Results Saturday, December 15

Westhill’s Chase Parrot (132) and Tommy Mazur (152) won individual titles along with New Fairfield’s Hunter Chin (126) at the Londonderry, N.H., Holiday Tournament. It was a competitive tournament won by Mt. Anthony, Vt., with Andover, Mass., and Marshfield, Maine taking second and third. Westhill took sixth while New Fairfield was eighth. Westhill’s Alex Edwards (145) was second while teammate Mike Edwards (145) and New Fairfield’s Julian Soares (126) each finished third.

Championship wins from Flori Cenkoli (195), Jack Cronin (182), Colden Williamson (126) and Tom Verdiglione (120) lifted Nonnewaug to a 1½ point win over Pomperaug and New Canaan to capture the 39th annual Mike O’Keefe Holiday Tournament at Pomperaug in Southbury.

The Chiefs finished with 140½ points with Pomperaug and New Canaan finishing with 139 points. Farmington was close behind in fourth place with 132 points. Williamson beat Farmington’s Wallaf Montiero by one point to win at 126 pounds, 18-17. It was the eighth title for Nonnewaug in tournament history only trailing host Pomperaug with nine.

Chris Perry (132) and Luca Errico (138) won individual titles to help Brunswick School-Greenwich win the Battle of the Bay tournament at Tabor Academy in Marion, Mass., for the second consective year. The Bruins outlasted Northfield Mt. Hermon, 229½ to 193½ with Belmont Hill taking third with 192 points. Nadji Ngbokoli (152) and Tim Saunders (195) finished second for Brunswick while William MacGillivray (106), Harry Fett (160) and Dylan Reynolds (170) each finished third in their respective weight classes.

Results Saturday, December 15

With five wrestlers finishing in the top three of their respective weight classes, Enfield finished third at the Early Bird Invitational in East Longmeadow, Mass. Nick Miller (220) won a title for the Eagles while Sean Messina (132) finished second. Defending vocational school state champion Putnam Vo-Tech of Springfield won the tournament for the fourth straight year, beating Longmeadow, Mass., 193-142. Enfield was third with 137 points.

The first Connecticut Wrestling Online top 10 poll of the season will be released around January 1.

Gerry deSimas, Jr., is the editor and founder of Connecticut Wrestling Online. He is an award-winning writer and has been covering sports in Connecticut and New England for more than 30 years. He was inducted into the New England High School Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2018.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in High School