Connect with us


Regional sites announced for women’s national tournament

The coalition of wrestling organizations supporting NCAA women’s wrestling has announced the dates and locations for the six regional tournaments which will qualify athletes for the 2024 National Collegiate Women’s Wrestling Championships (NCWWC) at Alliant Energy Powerhouse on March 8-9 in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

This year, the NCWWC is expanding from five to six regional tournaments to determine the athletes that advance to the national championships. The expansion is due to the continued growth of women’s wrestling among NCAA institutions.

No. 7 Sacred Heart, which won their first regional title a year ago, will be defending their Region I championship at Lock Haven University on Saturday, Feb. 24.

The top four wrestlers in each weight class will advance to the national tournament. A wrestle-off will be held to determine the true fourth place finisher if the fourth place and fifth place wrestlers did not face each other in the regional tournament. In the rare scenario, if the two wrestlers faced each other twice, the outcome of the last match will determine the bid to the national tournament.

The other regional tournaments will be held Friday, Feb. 23 at Emmanuel College (Region II) and Simpson College (Region V) on Saturday, Feb. 24 at Gannon University (Region III) and Sunday, Feb. 25 at Texas Women’s University (Region VI) and North Central College (Region IV).

The other 13 teams assigned to Region I will be Alvernia University, Cedar Crest College, Delaware Valley University, East Stroudsburg University, Elmira College, Lock Haven University, New England College, New Jersey City University, Ursinus College, Utica University, Western New England College and York College of Pennsylvania.

North Central College is the defending NCWWC national champion.

Gerry deSimas, Jr., is the editor and founder of Connecticut Wrestling Online. He is an award-winning writer and has been covering sports in Connecticut and New England for more than 40 years. He was inducted into the New England High School Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2018.

More in College