Connect with us


EIWA releases early seeds for Friday’s championship meet

The coaches have spoken and the preliminary seeds for Friday’s 117th  annual Eastern Intercollegiate Wrestling Association (EIWA) championship meet have been selected.

Replacement wrestlers will be permitted until weigh-ins on Friday morning and the league coaches will confer again on Thursday night to consider any COVID-19 related replacements for seeding at that time. The seeds will remain preliminary until they are locked in at weigh-ins.

Lehigh, which has won the last three EIWA championships, has four No. 1 seeds at 125, 133, 197 and 285 pounds. Navy, Bucknell, Binghampton, Army, Hofstra and Drexel also each have a No. 1 seed.

No. 18 Navy and Army each have seven wrestlers seeded in the top three of their respective weight classes. Navy has five wrestlers seeded No. 2 while Army has a pair of wrestlers at No. 2 and four at No. 3.

Sacred Heart’s top seeded wrestler is Newtown junior Joe Accousti, who is the No. 5 seed at 184 pounds. Long Island University freshman Devin Matthews, who wrestled at Gilbert in Winsted, is the No. 8 seed at 133 pounds.

Wrestling begins on Friday at 10 a.m. at the Spooky Nook Sports Complex in Manheim, Pa., with quarterfinal action and the first consolation rounds. At 2 p.m., the semifinals and other consolation round action will begin. The finals, consolation final and fifth place bouts will begin at 5 :30 p.m.

The tournament, which is closed to spectators, can be viewed online at FloWrestling.

Preliminary 2021 EIWA Tournament seeds

125 pounds (3 NCAA tournament bids)

  1. Jaret Lane, Lehigh
  2. Logan Treaster, Navy
  3. Gage Curry, American
  4. Dylan Ryder, Hofstra
  5. Micah Roes, Binghamton
  6. Brandon Seidman, Bucknell
  7. Bryce Cockrell, Long Island
  8. Ryan Chauvin Army
  9. Kyle Waterman, Drexel
  10. Cole Meyer, Sacred Heart

133 pounds (3 NCAA bids)

  1. Malyke Hines, Lehigh
  2. Darren Miller, Bucknell
  3. Anthony Sobotker, Binghamton
  4. Chandler Olson, Drexel
  5. Garrett Lambert, Hofstra
  6. Mark Montgomery, Army
  7. Jacob Allen, Navy
  8. Devin Matthews, Long Island
  9. Kyle Randall, Sacred Heart

141 pounds (5 NCAA bids)

  1. Cody Trybus, Navy
  2. Zack Trampe, Binghamton
  3. Lane Peters, Army
  4. Tyler Williams, Drexel
  5. Vinny Vespa, Hofstra
  6. Connor McGonagle, Lehigh
  7. Drew Witham, Long Island
  8. Kurt Phipps, Bucknell
  9. Jordan Carlucci, Sacred Heart
  10. Patrick Ryan, American

149 pounds (5 NCAA bids)

  1. PJ Ogunsanya, Army
  2. Casey Cobb, Navy
  3. Kizhan Clarke, American
  4. Jimmy Hoffman, Lehigh
  5. Luke Nichter, Drexel
  6. Greg Gaxiola, Hofstra
  7. Matthew Kolonia, Bucknell
  8. Michael Zarif, Binghamton
  9. Chris Gomez, Long Island
  10. Seth Brown, Sacred Heart

157 pounds (5 NCAA bids)

  1. Holden Heller, Hofstra
  2. Markus Hartman, Army
  3. Parker Kropman, Drexel
  4. Andrew Cerniglia, Navy
  5. Nick Delp, Bucknell
  6. Luca Frinzi, Lehigh
  7. Nick Palumbo, Sacred Heart
  8. Rhise Royster, Long Island
  9. Matt Swanson, Binghamton

165 pounds (5 NCAA bids)

  1. Zach Hartman, Bucknell
  2. Tanner Skidgel, Navy
  3. Ricky Stamm, Hofstra
  4. Brevin Cassella, Binghamton
  5. Evan Barczak, Drexel
  6. Brian Meyer, Lehigh
  7. Will Schmidt, Sacred Heart
  8. Clayton Fielden, Army
  9. Ryan Ferro, Long Island

174 pounds (5 NCAA bids)

  1. Michael O’Malley, Drexel
  2. Ross McFarland, Hofstra
  3. Ben Pasiuk, Army
  4. Jacob Nolan, Binghamton
  5. Jake Logan, Lehigh
  6. Vincent Andreano, Bucknell
  7. Tim Fitzpatrick, American
  8. Dean Caravela, Navy
  9. Thomas DiGennaro, Long Island
  10. Pat O’Donnell, Sacred Heart

184 pounds (6 NCAA bids)

  1. Lou DePrez, Binghamton
  2. David Key, Navy
  3. Taylor Brown, Army
  4. Charles Small, Hofstra
  5. Joe Accousti, Sacred Heart
  6. Josh Stillings, Drexel
  7. James Langan, Long Island
  8. Frank Guida, Bucknell
  9. Dylan Ammerman, Lehigh

197 pounds (5 NCAA bids)

  1. John Jakobsen, Lehigh
  2. JT Brown, Army
  3. Jacob Koser, Navy
  4. Bryan McLaughlin, Drexel
  5. Trey Rogers, Hofstra
  6. Robert Hetherman, Sacred Heart
  7. Mason McCready, Bucknell
  8. Sam DePrez, Binghamton
  9. TJ Frandan, Long Island

285 pounds (4 NCAA bids)

  1. Jordan Wood, Lehigh
  2. John Birchmeier, Navy
  3. Robert Heald, Army
  4. Zachary Knighton-Ward, Hofstra
  5. Joe Doyle, Binghamton
  6. Dorian Crosby, Bucknell
  7. Tim Nagosky, Long Island
  8. Sean O’Malley, Drexel
  9. Mark Blokh, Sacred Heart

Gerry deSimas, Jr., is the editor and founder of Connecticut Wrestling Online. He is an award-winning writer and has been covering sports in Connecticut and New England for more than 35 years. He was inducted into the New England High School Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2018.

More in College