Connect with us


Two former Danbury wrestlers on rosters to compete at RTC Cup

Two Danbury High graduates will be wrestling for Wolfpack Wrestling Club in this weekend’s RTC Cup competition. (Photo courtesy Wolfpack WC)

Two former Danbury High wrestlers will be competing this weekend at the 2020 RTC Cup, a dual meet competition with six of the top wrestling clubs in America this weekend on Friday, Dec. 4 and Saturday, Dec. 5, in Cincinnati.

Kevin Jack, a three-time All-American wrestler at North Carolina State, and Jakob Camacho, a sophomore with the Wolfpack, are on the roster for the Wolfpack Wrestling Club.

Camacho is on the Wolfpack Wrestling Club roster at 57 kg (125 pounds) while Jack is set to wrestle at 65 kg (143 pounds). There will just be six weight classes contested in the dual meet.

Wrestlers in the tournament have won four world championship titles, an Olympic medal, 19 NCAA championships and 10 age-level world championships.

The winning club team earns $50,000.

2020 RTC Cup
At Cincinnati
Watch live on FloWrestling

Pool A — Cliff Keen Wrestling Club, Wolfpack WC, Gopher Wrestling Club
Pool B — Spartan Combat RTC, NJRTC/SERTC, Ohio RTC

Friday, Dec. 4
Pool B
Ohio RTC vs NJRTC/SERTC, 2 p.m.
Ohio RTC vs Spartan Combat RTC, 3 p.m.
Spartan Combat RTC vs NJRTC/SERTC, 4 p.m.
Pool A
Cliff Keen WC vs Gopher WC, 6 p.m.
Cliff Keen WC vs Wolfpack WC, 7 p.m.
Wolfpack WC vs Gopher WC, 8 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 5
Winners of Pool A & B receive byes to the semifinals

Match 1: Pool A #2 vs Pool B #3, 1 p.m.
Match 2: Pool A #3 vs Pool B #2, 2 p.m.
Consolation matches
Quarterfinal losers wrestle for 5th place, 4 p.m.

Pool A #1 vs winner of match 2, 5 p.m.
Pool B #1 vs winner of match 1, 6 p.m.
Third place:
Semifinal losers, 7 p.m.
Championship match: Semifinal winners, 8 p.m.

Gerry deSimas, Jr., is the editor and founder of Connecticut Wrestling Online. He is an award-winning writer and has been covering sports in Connecticut and New England for more than 40 years. He was inducted into the New England High School Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2018.

More in News