Connect with us

High School

Killingly beats Cougars by 50 points to win 2nd straight state title

Hosting the Class S tournament for the first time, Killingly beat Haddam-Killingworth by 50 points to win a state championship. (Photo courtesy Killingly High Athletics)

KILLINGLY, February 22, 2020 – With three individual champions and seven medalists, the Killingly High wrestling team won their second straight state championship with a dominant performance at the Class S championship meet.

Killingly, which won the Class M title a year ago, beat Haddam-Killingworth by 50 points, 207 to 157. It’s the fourth largest margin of victory in Class S history and the largest since Windham beat Killingly by 90 points in 2016.

Defending champion Gilbert had three individual champions including the Matthews brothers. Kyle Mattews (152) won his second straight Class S title while Devin Matthews (132) joined his brother on the top level of the victory stand.

Gilbert’s Bajram Gutic (220) won his first state championship with a 5-2 victory over Granby’s Devon Flagg. But the Yellowjackets, who finished fourth, simply didn’t have enough wrestlers in the tournament to contend this year. Gilbert filled nine of 14 weight classes.

The Yellowjackets, who scored 136½ points, were just one of three non-ECC schools among the top eight teams. Ledyard (149) was third with Windham (127) finishing fifth, Montville (115) taking sixth and Lyman Memorial/Windham Tech finishing eighth with 110 points, just a ½ point behind Plainville.

Freshman Kaden Ware (106), David Charron (126) and Ben Richardson (145) brought home championships for Killingly. Ware (46-1) had three takedowns to build a 6-1 lead as he beat Canton’s Ethan Titus in the championship match, 6-3.

Charron won his second straight state title with an 8-0 win over Oxford’s Thomas Verdiglione while Richardson won his first title with a 16-4 victory over Terryville’s Cayleb Leclerc.

Connor Doran (113) and Brayden Grim (160) won Class S titles for Ledyard.

East Hampton’s Dylan Levesque (120) won his second consecutive Class S championship with a 5-2 win over Killingly’s Jack Richardson. Leading 2-1 after two periods, Levesque got an escape three seconds into the third period and a takedown with 1:34 left in the match to take control.

Nonnewaug’s Jack Cronin (182) pinned Plainville’s Esteban Torres in 33 seconds to win his second straight Class S championship and earn outstanding wrestler honors. Cronin finished with four pins in the tournament, including two pins in less than 38 seconds.

NOTES — It was Killingly’s fifth state championship in wrestling. KHS won Class M titles in 2003 and 2019 along with Class S championships in 2008 and 2009. … The Matthews brothers are the 19th pair of brothers in state history to each win a state title in the same tournament. They are just the second pair from the Berkshire League to accomplish that feat. Nonnewaug’s Barry and Kevin Markarewicz each won Class S titles in 1979 — the first brothers in state history to accomplish that in wrestling.

CIAC Class S championships
At Killingly
Team results – 1. Killingly 207, 2. Haddam-Killingworth 157, 3. Ledyard 149½, 4. Gilbert 136½, 5. Windham 127, 6. Montville 115, 7. Plainville 110½, 8. Lyman Memorial/Windham Tech 110, 9. Canton 100, 10. Oxford 81, 11. Morgan and Northwestern 75½, 13. Bacon Academy 75, 14. Stafford 70, 15. Nonnewaug 58, 16. Somers and Terryville 47, 18. Griswold 46, 19, Derby 44, 20. Rocky Hill 43, 21. Granby 37, 22. East Catholic 35, 23. Thomaston/Holy Cross 33, 24. Notre Dame-Fairfield 29, 25. East Hampton and Stonington 26, 27. St. Paul and Woodland 24, 29. Putnam 19, 30. Seymour 18, 31. Coventry 13, 32. Portland 12, 33. Abbott Tech 11, 34. Shepaug and St. Bernard 4
Championship finals
106 Kaden Ware (Killingly) dec. Ethan Titus (Canton), 6-3
113 Connor Doran (Ledyard) tech fall Aiden Christie (Griswold), 22-7 5:43
120 Dylan Levesque (East Hampton) dec. Jack Richardson (Killingly), 5-2
126 David Charron (Killingly) dec. Thomas Verdiglione (Oxford), 8-0
132 Devin Matthews (Gilbert) pin Braeden O’brien (Bacon Academy), 1:21
138 Tristan Julian (Stafford) pin Louis Bradley (Morgan), 3:52
145 Ben Richardson (Killingly) dec. Cayleb Leclerc (Terryville), 16-4
152 Kyle Matthews (Gilbert) pin Samuel Light (Stonington), 1:49
160 Brayden Grim (Ledyard) dec. Christopher Rivera (East Catholic), 10-0
170 Ryan Powers (Lyman Memorial/Windham Tech) pin Austin Kilduff (Canton), 2:29
182 Jack Cronin (Nonnewaug) pin Esteban Torres (Plainville), 0:33
195 Jamikael Lytle (Northwestern) dec. David Thoma (Lyman Memorial/Windham Tech), 11-1
220 Bajram Gutic (Gilbert) dec. Devin Flagg (Granby Memorial), 5-2
285 Thomas Perry (Haddam-Killingworth) pin Somuadina Agunyego (Montville), 1:49
Consolation finals, 3rd place
106 Cameron Hines (Haddam-Killingworth) dec. Blake Chapman (Montville), 6-0
113 Asim Samuel (Killingly) pin Joseph Kennedy (Plainville), 0:38
120 Elijah Vertefeuille (Windham) dec. Tyler Arsenault (Griswold), 4-3
126 Matthew Webb (Canton) dec. Quinn Bond (Montville), 3-2
132 Thomas Chappa (Oxford) dec. Cooper Morissette (Killingly), 8-5
138 Shane Franson (Lyman Memorial/Windham Tech) pin Ben Williams (Haddam-Killingworth), 1:25
145 Marcos Rodriguez rivera (Windham) dec. Caden Foote (Ledyard), 17-7
152 Nicholas Glynn (Haddam-Killingworth) dec. Anthony Deicicchi (Seymour), 6-0
160 Connor Blay (Gilbert) dec. Erik Atkison (St. Paul), 3-2
170 Ioana Cobena (Montville) dec. Jon Creswell (Killingly), 10-4
182 Linards Bekeris (Somers) pin Matthew Carson (Haddam-Killingworth), 2:12
195 Donny Shivas (Thomaston/Holy Cross) dec. Alexander Santini (Plainville), 5-3
220 Ernesto Heredia (Windham) pin Zachary Doiron (Montville), 2:30
285 Davin McIver (Ledyard) dec. Dylan Keith (Gilbert), 1-0
Fifth place
106 Owen Burton (Bacon Academy) forfeit over Jake Defonce (Abbott Tech), 0-0
113 Ethan Wright (Haddam-Killingworth) dec. Alen Garcia gonzalez (Windham), 17-13
120 Elias Sturdevant (Woodland) dec. Caleb Phillips (Ledyard), 5-3 SV
126 Tanner Hammond (Somers) pin Jeffry Stober (Lyman Memorial/Windham Tech), 3:37
132 Jacob Foster (Ledyard) dec. Jack Freedenberg (Canton), 0-0
138 Mick Wynosky (Montville) pin Liam Kaine (Oxford), 4:49
145 Samuel Young (Haddam-Killingworth) dec. Cooper Barrett (Somers), 5-4
152 Mason Barnett (Ledyard) dec. David Ives (Stafford), 9-7
160 Kyle Voisine (Plainville) forfeit over Mark Delima (Notre Dame-Fairfield), 0-0
170 Kaleb Korona (Plainville) dec. Ryan Duncanson (Haddam-Killingworth), 10-2
182 Michael Ionkin (Putnam) forfeit over Damon Burger (Bacon Academy), 0-0
195  Ethan Reemsnyder (Morgan) dec. Adem Kica (Oxford), 4-3
220 Zachary Tupper (Bacon Academy) pin Preston Ross (Thomaston/Holy Cross), 1:44
285 Abraham Rodriguez (Derby) dec. Sam Sciaudone (Notre Dame-Fairfield), 3-2
Outstanding wrestler: Jack Cronin (182), Nonnewaug
Brackets and results (

Gerry deSimas, Jr., is the editor and founder of Connecticut Wrestling Online. He is an award-winning writer and has been covering sports in Connecticut and New England for more than 30 years. He was inducted into the New England High School Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2018.

More in High School