Connect with us

High School

Danbury wins fifth straight Class LL championship

Danbury’s Ryan Jack won his fourth straight Class LL championship on Saturday. (Photo courtesy Danbury High wrestling)

TRUMBULL, February 22, 2020 – The Danbury High wrestling team took the first step on Saturday on their championship road winning their fifth straight Class LL championship with a 52-point win over No. 3 Fairfield Warde, 269-227.

No. 1 Danbury, the defending State Open and New England champion, is in good shape for next week’s Open. Eleven Danbury wrestlers finished in the top six of their respective weight classes to earn an invitation to the tournament.

Danbury had four wrestlers win Class LL titles and put six wrestlers in the finals. Four Hatters finished third. Senior Ryan Jack (138) became just the second wrestler in state history to win four consecutive Class LL championships and the first to achieve this since East Hartford’s John Knapp (1986-89).

Thirteen wrestlers have won four CIAC divisional state championships. Joel Barlow’s Carson LiCastri won his fourth straight Class M championship on Saturday. Jack had four pins including a technical fall in the championship match against Glastonbury’s Deven Vincellette, 23-9 in 5:21. His three other pins came in 33 seconds or less.

“This LL title was hard work. Warde put together a great tournament,” said Danbury’s veteran coach Ricky Shook told and the Danbury News Times. “It was a good test for us. We had kids do well in wrestlebacks to get us points. All 14 of our wrestlers scored points.

Kai O’Dell (113), Tyler Johnson (126), Ryan Jack (138) and DJ Donovan (220) won titles for Danbury. For Johnson, it was his second straight Class LL title. Tyrell Jones (182) and Jordan Agosto (285) each finished second.

Fairfield Warde had 10 wrestlers earn State Open invitations, including William Ebert (145) and Cole Shaughnessy (152), who each won their first Class LL titles. Shaughnessy was named the tournament’s most outstanding wrestler.

Southington’s Billy Carr beat Tyrell Jones, 9-5 to win his second straight Class LL title for the Blue Knights. For the third straight season, Southington finished in third place.

Staples’ Nicholas Augeri (195) outlasted Fairfield Warde’s Griffin Gallati, 3-2 in triple OT.

Trumbull’s Michael Long used a tech fall win over Ridgefield’s Alexander Blaha, 23-6, to win his second straight Class LL title.

Westhill’s Thomas Mazur (170) remained undefeated this season (35-0) after pinning NFA’s Theran Vanese in the championship finals.

Hall’s Drew Carrier (120), Trumbull’s Jack Ryan (132), Fairfield Prep’s Dean Tsiranides (160) and Shelton’s Matt Weiner (285) also won individual championships.

CIAC Class LL championships
At Trumbull
Team results – 1. Danbury 269, 2. Fairfield Warde 227, 3. Southington 151½, 4. Trumbull 138, 5. Glastonbury 119, 6. Staples 105, 7. NFA 102, 8. Manchester 100, 9. Ridgefield 94, 10. Newtown 84, 11. Fairfield Prep 81½, 12. Greenwich 79½, 13. Enfield 59, 14. East Hartford 58, 15. New Britain and New Haven 55, 17. Shelton 51, 18. Hall 50, 19. Westhill 49½, 20. Brien McMahon 47, 21. Conard 42, 22. Fairfield Ludlow 26½, 23. Stamford 20, 24. Norwalk 19, 25. West Haven 11
Championship finals
106 Michael Longo (Trumbull) tech fall Alexander Blaha (Ridgefield), 23-6, 6:00
113 Kai O’Dell (Danbury) dec. Lucas Coleman (Fairfield Warde), 11-1
120 Drew Currier (Hall) dec. Carlos Dewinter (Greenwich), 14-8
126 Tyler Johnson (Danbury) dec. Parker Sutton (Glastonbury), 8-6
132 Jack Ryan (Trumbull) pin Nathan Cuoco (Fairfield Warde), 3:21
138 Ryan Jack (Danbury) tech fall Deven Vincelette (Glastonbury), 25-9, 5:21
145 William Ebert (Fairfield Warde) dec. Caleb Brick (Southington), 3-0
152 Cole Shaughnessy (Fairfield Warde) pin Dawsen Welch (Southington), 0:47
160 Dean Tsiranides (Fairfield Prep) tech fall Traivon Nieves (Manchester), 20-5, 5:52
170 Thomas Mazur (Westhill) pin Theran Vanase (Norwich Free Academy), 2:20
182 William Carr (Southington) dec. Tyrell Jones (Danbury), 9-5
195 Nicholas Augeri (Staples) dec. Griffin Gallati (Fairfield Warde), 3-2, 3 OT
220 DJ Donovan (Danbury) pin Kirill Fioletov (Glastonbury), 3:31
285 Matthew Weiner (Shelton) dec. Jordan Agosto (Danbury), 12-3
Consolation final, 3rd place
106 Luca Manfredi (Newtown) dec. Connor Breheny (Fairfield Warde), 9-0
113 Nathan Blaha (Ridgefield) dec. Nicholas Urso (Conard), 8-5
120 Kevin Pina (Danbury) dec. Martial Sutton (Glastonbury), 4-1
126 Terry Brannigan (Staples) dec. Justin Beiler (Enfield), 11-3
132 Matt Lucas (Danbury) dec. Emanuel Lai (Greenwich), 11-6
138 Justin Ortiz (Manchester) pin Ryan Gover (Stamford), 2:51
145 Logan Kovacs (Danbury) dec. Fritz Maurath (Newtown), 10-9
152 Steven Leuci (Newtown) dec. Kyle Vigeant (Glastonbury), 7-3
160 Yarian Grant (New Haven) dec. Joshua Vitti (Southington), 6-4, 4:58
170 Jaylen Hawkins (Danbury) dec. Hunter Rasmussen (Fairfield Warde), 7-2
182 Isaiah Medina (New Britain) pin John Summers (Fairfield Warde), 4:30
195Anthony Martinez (East Hartford) dec. Sean Donovan (Danbury), 12-3
220 Jacob Vecchio (Southington) dec. Nick Miller (Enfield), 4-2
285 Jaylin Houston (New Haven) dec. Jacob Rizy (Staples), 4-0
106 Colton Thorpe (Southington) dec. Jaiden James (Norwich Free Academy), 6-4 OT
113 Andrew Grabinski (Trumbull) dec. Jacob Pressler (Fairfield Ludlowe), 7-2
120 Zavier Hernandez (Brien McMahon) pin Ben Plaue (Newtown), 4:52
126 Connor Devega (Norwich Free Academy) dec. Benjamin Gorr (Southington), 4-2
132  Lucas Ferreira (Ridgefield) dec. Jacob Long (Hall), 7-5, OT
138Jeremy Brault (Fairfield Warde) dec. Cooper Lavigne (East Hartford), 6-0
145 Henry Bosken (Fairfield Prep) pin George Bomannn (Trumbull), 2:10
152 Alijah Curry (Manchester) forfeit over Alexander Cardozo (Fairfield Prep)
160 Michael Monaco (Shelton) forfeit over Steven Vournazos (Newtown)
170 Liam Keppler (Ridgefield) pin Robert Clarke (Manchester), 2:19
182 Brendan Gilchrist (Norwalk) dec. Mason McMahon (Norwich Free Academy), 9-1
195 Christian Gervais (Norwich Free Academy) pin Malachi Mercer (Fairfield Prep), 2:09
220 Alec Nardone (Fairfield Warde) M forfeit over Jeffrey Cocchia (Brien McMahon)
285 Tyree Pinnock (New Britain) pin Alex Martinez (Enfield), 1:19
Outstanding wrestler: Cole Shaughnessy (152), Fairfield Warde

Gerry deSimas, Jr., is the editor and founder of Connecticut Wrestling Online. He is an award-winning writer and has been covering sports in Connecticut and New England for more than 30 years. He was inducted into the New England High School Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2018.

More in High School