Connect with us


With four individual champions, Cortland State wins first NCAA Northeast Regional

WORCESTER, Mass., March 3, 2013 — Six wrestlers for the nationally third-ranked Cortland State Red Dragons earned berths into the NCAA Div. III nationals championships in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, March 15-16, by virtue of top-three finishes at the NCAA Div. III Northeast Regional in Worcester. at Worcester, Mass., hosted by Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

With four individual champions and two wrestlers finishing third, Cortland also finished first in the final team scoring, which was not recognized by the NCAA but was by the National Wrestling Coaches Association. The Red Dragons finished with 133.5 points, followed by Springfield (123) and Ithaca (96) in the 18-school field.

Freshman Bobby Dierna, the top seed at 149 pounds, took the title in his weight class. He pinned fifth-seeded Anthony Medina of Western New England in the semifinals before earning a 10-6 decision over third-seeded Jorge Lopez of Williams in the title bout.

Second-seeded senior Troy Sterling (Uniondale, NY) earned his trip to Cedar Rapids with a pair of wins over Empire Collegiate Wrestling Conference opponents at 157 pounds on Sunday. He recorded a 10-5 decision against unseeded Dan Graff of Oneonta in the semifinals and wrapped up the title with a 3-2 decision in the finals versus Oswego’s Blake Fisher, the fourth seed.

At 174 pounds, second-seeded sophomore Lou Puca (Huntington, NY) captured the title with a 13-1 major decision over third-seeded Kyle Roosa of Wesleyan in the semifinals and a medical forfeit victory against top-seeded Jules Doliscar of Ithaca in the championship match. Senior Jared Myhrberg (Queensbury, NY), the top seed at 197 pounds, captured Cortland’s fourth individual title at the tournament. In the semifinals, Myhrberg pinned fifth-seeded Blake McNulty of Johnson & Wales in 3:56, his third pin of the championships. Myhrberg then earned a 3-1 decision in the first tiebreaker over Springfield’s Jeremy Burns, the third seed, in the title bout.

2013 NCAA Northwest Division IIII regional
At Worcester, Mass.
Team results – 1. Cortland State 133½, 2. Springfield 123, 3. Itacha 96, 4. Wesleyan 91, 5. Johnson & Wales 78, 6. Roger Williams 61, 7. Williams 57½ , 8. Oneonta State 57, 9. Western New England 52½, 10. Coast Guard 46½, 11. Southern Maine 44, 12. SUNY-Oswego State and WPI 34½, 14. Norwich University 33½, 15. Rhode Island College 26½, 16. Trinity College 16½, 17. Plymouth State 13½, 18. Bridgewater State 7½
Individual results
125 — Ricardo Gomez (Ithaca) dec. Nathaniel Giorgio (Coast Guard), 6-4; 3. Tom Casper (Springfield) dec. Michael Sugermeyer (Rhode Island) 4-3; 5. Joe Pronk (Johnson & Wales) dec. Anthony D`Anton (Roger Williams) 4-1
133 — Alex Gomez (Ithaca) dec. Derek Adams (Springfield) 7-3; 3. Alec Dierna (Cortland) dec. Omar Santiago (SUNY-Oswego State) 5-2; 5. Maika Nagata (Wesleyan) dec. Robert Ferrante (Western New England) 10-6
141 — Joseph Grippi (Springfield) dec. Ces Antista (Williams) 2-1, 2 OT; 3. Dominick Giacolone (Ithaca) dec. Michael Giorgio (Coast Guard) 6-1; 5. Nick Scotto (Wesleyan) pin Sean Hanson (Oneonta State) 0:30
149 — Bobby Dierna (Cortland) dec. Jorge Lopez (Williams) 10-6; 3. Howard Tobochnik (Wesleyan) dec. Anthony Medina (Western New England) 12-9; 5. Kevin Collins (Ithaca) dec. Joey Gaccione (Johnson & Wales) 4-3
157 — Troy Sterling (Cortland) dec. Blake Fisher (SUNY-Oswego State) 3-2; 3. Devin Biscaha (Springfield) dec. Derek Brenon (Ithaca) 5-4; 5. Femi Wheeler (Plymouth State) dec. Daniel Graff (Oneonta State) 8-4
165 — Collin Crowell (Roger Williams) dec. Derrick Longo (Springfield) 13-3; 3. Shaun Gillen (Oneonta State) dec. David Pinto (Norwich) 3-1, OT; 5. Sean Prell (Johnson & Wales)win by medical forfeit over Jon Conroy (Cortland)
174 — Lou Puca (Cortland) win by medical forfeit over Jules Doliscar (Ithaca) ; 3. Zach Hartzell (Worcester-WPI) dec. Michael Fish (Springfield) 3-2; 5. Kyle Roosa (Wesleyan) win by medical forfeit over Lucas Taylor (Coast Guard)
184 —  Colin Lenhardt (Johnson & Wales) dec. Jefferson Ajayi (Wesleyan) 3-2; 3. Shane Parcel (Roger Williams) dec. Nicholas Camera (Springfield) 1-0; 5. Jonathan Deupree (Southern Maine) dec. Will Parks (Cortland) 5-3
197 — Jared Myhrberg (Cortland) dec. Jeremy Burns (Springfield) 3-1, 2 OT; 3. Joshua Roometua (Wesleyan) dec. Sean Fagan (Southern Maine) 3-1, OT; 5. Chad Obzud (Oneonta State) pin Blake McNulty (Johnson & Wales) 2:40
285 — Jamison Sacco (Western New England) win by medical forfeit over Tom Foote (Williams) ; 3. Corey James (Cortland) dec. Kyle Mcguire (Trinity) 3-2; 5. Humphrey Swift (Johnson & Wales) dec. Brian Nicoll (Rhode Island) 3-2

Connecticut Wrestling Online has been covering the sport of wrestling in Connecticut and New England since 2001.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in College